Sunday 9 May 2010

Review: Radiant Shadows

Title: Radiant Shadows
Author: Melissa Marr
Publisher: HarperCollins
Reading Level: Young Adult
Other titles in series: Wicked Lovely, Ink Exchange, Fragile Eternity

Rating: 3/5

Publisher's Summary:
Half-human and half-faery, Ani is driven by her hungers.

Those same appetites also attract powerful enemies and uncertain allies, including Devlin. He was created as an assassin and is brother to the faeries' coolly logical High Queen and to her chaotic twin, the embodiment of War. Devlin wants to keep Ani safe from his sisters, knowing that if he fails, he will be the instrument of Ani's death.

Ani isn't one to be guarded while others fight battles for her, though. She has the courage to protect herself and the ability to alter Devlin's plans—and his life. The two are drawn together, each with reason to fear the other and to fear for one another. But as they grow closer, a larger threat imperils the whole of Faerie. Will saving the faery realm mean losing each other?

I've been waiting for this book for a year.I have LOVED the series thus far. I am not sure this next installment was what I was expecting. I was hoping for more continuity with the characters we already knew, not adding more. The whole series is more like a bunch of companion volumes all centering around a certain setting, but not the same people necessarily. Yes it is confusing. Every book changes its focus characters. SO, nothing gets resolved with the last book, just more characters come into play.

The love story was nice, but short. It was still good, but not great. I might be done with this series because no answers are ever provided. It is a Dark Faerie Romance, if you like those you probably will enjoy this series.

"In all of eternity, no faery born has overcome me in anything.'

Aaah. Pride goeth before the fall, my friend"--Irial stood and clasped Devlin's hand--"but you've already fallen, haven't you?'

And to that, Devlin had no answer."


  1. Thanks for the honest review :) I'm still on the fence with this one.

  2. Sounds like you were looking for a sequel and got a companion book. How annoying. (I hate it when we never get answers and just end up with more questions!)

  3. How the series works is this: 1, 3 and 5 are a series, and 2 and 4 are companion novels. That's how it's always been, and Melissa Marr hasn't stated otherwise. The 5th book, out next year, will provide a good conclusion to everything, so I'd suggest reading it.


I love to hear what you think.
Leave me a comment!

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...